Reviews

Sign our Guest Book!


Submit your review
* Required Field

The best B&B in Washington DC.

Jun 20, 2013 by Zalina N

The best B&B in Washington DC. We stayed in this place in 2011 and it was the best time of ours trip. Jack is the owner of Kalorama G.H. is very good and positive man. We had fun and comfortable living and at 5:00 pm we ate cookies which Jack usually cooks :) . I recommend this place!


Feels like a home while visiting DC

Jun 20, 2013 by G T Arnold

While I do not normally like B&B accomadations, this was a wonderful experience. The location was convenient to my needs in the area and Jack was an excellent host. Everything about the house was comfortable and felt like a home. I will certainly use the Kalorama House in the future when I need to be in DC.


Amazing place!

Jun 20, 2013 by NKM77

I spent five nights here, and I had an great experience. I truly enjoyed Jack's hospitality and breakfast. He is an excellent host, providing key information about the city and its activities. I originally booked a single room with shared bathroom, I was surprised by the big common bathroom and how clean it was, as well as the charming house transformed into a nice and comfortable B&B. My luggage arrived later that night, and Jack kindly received it at 2 am. On my second night, Jack offered me an amazing room with private bathroom at no extra cost. It was a new big room with AC and a new bathroom. This was a lovely room. Overall, this is a great place, located two blocks from the Marriot and the metro, less than 10 minutes from the city centre.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business


Lovely B&B, home away from home

Jun 20, 2013 by Pauline V

I love this B&B. Comfortable rooms in a very charming old house, nice and green neighborhood not far from the city centre (metro stop around the corner). The real ace is Jack, the owner, who goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcome and at home. Sweet surprise were the oat meal cookies and wine waiting for you after a long day. Forget about the big, anonymous hotels. Do book a room here if you get a chance, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business


A proper home, perfect hosts!

Jun 20, 2013 by Justine R

We stayed in one of the cheaper basement rooms with a shared bathroom on the first two nights of a four month trip across the US and south America...we just hope everywhere we stay comes close to this. The house is beautiful and in a great location. The room we stayed in was excellent value, clean, quiet and comfortable. The best bit of the guest house is Jack, who is such a kind and generous host. There are always cookies and beer which you are encouraged to help yourself to and we were really made to feel at home. The guest house also attracts great people who we happily shared stories with over the yummy breakfast. Definitely recommended!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple


Truly felt like home!

May 08, 2013 by Aimee & Eliu Gonzalez

Jack! You are our long lost relative! Thank you for making us feel a part of your family and welcoming us into this beautiful home. We truly enjoyed our stay. This DC Bed and Breakfast was a perfect location for our mini vacation. Near the Metro, restaurants and even the Zoo! So much to do, so little time. But we\'ll be back and we\'ll stay here again. Truly felt like we were home (minus our cat) :) - If you\'re looking for convenience, price, and home - this is your place to stay! Jack will make sure all your needs are met.


A Special Place

Apr 19, 2013 by John Monteforte

Having stayed at the old Kalorama Guest House a couple of years ago, I was greatly surprised by the changes that an experienced and professional owner could make upon taking over the house. The rooms are remodeled and refreshed and the atmosphere is much improved. The new owner, Jack, not only brings experience, but a commitment to make it right and memorable. His efforts have paid off in that his product speaks well for itself. I urge you to give it a try. You will not be disappointed with this DC Bed and Breakfast.


Mar 23, 2013 by Yaling

Awesome! The owner was very nice and they served tasty breakfast. Plus, the room was very clean and the Kalorama Guest House is located in a very safe and convenient area in DC. I highly recommend this DC Bed and Breakfast!


I had an amazing stay here!

Dec 11, 2012 by Kelsey S

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the basements rooms. At first, I was a bit wary of the thought of using a shared bathroom, but even during the weekend, it seemed the we were the only people using the bathroom! It was gorgeously spacious, with a nice heater to keep the whole bathroom warm. The shower was extremely large, clean and luxurious. I loved the tiny mosaic tiles! My room only cost $79 a night, so it was really inexpensive, especially for the amazing hospitality we received.

When I arrived, a kind man carried all of my bags down the stairs and into my room, offered me wine and fresh baked cookies. These were probably the best tasting cookies that I\'ve ever had in my life. My room (although undecorated) was very clean, comfortable, and best of all, warm during the cold weather. The owner, Jack, is a very kind, and welcoming man! He cooked us a fantastic breakfast each day, complete with Pancakes, Eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, coffee, tea, bagels, and even cereal (and more cookies!). Each day when he noticed we had finished breakfast, he offered to make us more if we were hungry. You can tell that he works very hard to keep his guests happy.

The overall Guest House decor was fantastic, and I felt as if I was staying in a Victorian-style mansion. Jack also has an amazing book collection that he readily shares with his guests. The free Wi-fi was really fast, so it was wonderful to have when I needed it. The Guest House is a short walk from a huge variety of restaurants, and inexpensive parking locations. I\'m so glad to have stayed here, and if needed, I would always stay here while in D.C.! -Review from Tripadvisor.com


One of the best places I've stayed

Dec 11, 2012 by Russell O

Where to begin? I\'ve stayed in everything from $35 boondocks motels to pricey historic resorts that were $299 a night. This was one of the better places I\'ve stayed, by far. The staff, Jack in particular, were very friendly and personable. When several things went wrong on our trip, everyone was EXTREMELY helpful and very friendly.

Phone calls were answered much faster than e-mails, and someone was always around during business hours, should I need anything.

The rooms don\'t come with TVs, but that\'s fine- I don\'t own a TV at home, and the speedy internet access more than made Netflix and Hulu viable alternatives.

The heater in the bathroom, and my room heater, made each room quite warm and toasty. The breakfast was very good, and there were always plenty of leftovers- no one ran out or went hungry while I was there.

It\'s only a few blocks from the more expensive, $150 a night on up places. Stay here! The metro is a block away. Honestly, rather than waste $150-200 on some huge chain, spend the 70-80 a night for this place, get great food, friendly service, and a good night\'s sleep. -Review from Tripadvisor.com


Guesthouse , USA 4.9 5.0 56 56 Booked a room with a friend not knowing what to expect. Jack really took care of us during our stay. Made sure that we had everything that we needed. The location is close to the