Reviews

Sign our Guest Book!


Submit your review
* Required Field

I had an amazing stay here!

Dec 11, 2012 by Kelsey S

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the basements rooms. At first, I was a bit wary of the thought of using a shared bathroom, but even during the weekend, it seemed the we were the only people using the bathroom! It was gorgeously spacious, with a nice heater to keep the whole bathroom warm. The shower was extremely large, clean and luxurious. I loved the tiny mosaic tiles! My room only cost $79 a night, so it was really inexpensive, especially for the amazing hospitality we received.

When I arrived, a kind man carried all of my bags down the stairs and into my room, offered me wine and fresh baked cookies. These were probably the best tasting cookies that I\'ve ever had in my life. My room (although undecorated) was very clean, comfortable, and best of all, warm during the cold weather. The owner, Jack, is a very kind, and welcoming man! He cooked us a fantastic breakfast each day, complete with Pancakes, Eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, coffee, tea, bagels, and even cereal (and more cookies!). Each day when he noticed we had finished breakfast, he offered to make us more if we were hungry. You can tell that he works very hard to keep his guests happy.

The overall Guest House decor was fantastic, and I felt as if I was staying in a Victorian-style mansion. Jack also has an amazing book collection that he readily shares with his guests. The free Wi-fi was really fast, so it was wonderful to have when I needed it. The Guest House is a short walk from a huge variety of restaurants, and inexpensive parking locations. I\'m so glad to have stayed here, and if needed, I would always stay here while in D.C.! -Review from Tripadvisor.com


One of the best places I've stayed

Dec 11, 2012 by Russell O

Where to begin? I\'ve stayed in everything from $35 boondocks motels to pricey historic resorts that were $299 a night. This was one of the better places I\'ve stayed, by far. The staff, Jack in particular, were very friendly and personable. When several things went wrong on our trip, everyone was EXTREMELY helpful and very friendly.

Phone calls were answered much faster than e-mails, and someone was always around during business hours, should I need anything.

The rooms don\'t come with TVs, but that\'s fine- I don\'t own a TV at home, and the speedy internet access more than made Netflix and Hulu viable alternatives.

The heater in the bathroom, and my room heater, made each room quite warm and toasty. The breakfast was very good, and there were always plenty of leftovers- no one ran out or went hungry while I was there.

It\'s only a few blocks from the more expensive, $150 a night on up places. Stay here! The metro is a block away. Honestly, rather than waste $150-200 on some huge chain, spend the 70-80 a night for this place, get great food, friendly service, and a good night\'s sleep. -Review from Tripadvisor.com


Go!

Dec 04, 2012 by Alicemadani

Kalorama Guest House is an adorable home which reminds me of visiting my grandma\'s. You will awake in the morning and smell breakfast downstairs! Then, when you head outside, a cozy neighborhood in The District awaits. Restaurants, Cafe\'s, the Zoo and helpful places like the bank and grocery store are all in walking distance. And of course, the metro can take out to all the tourist spots in DC! I recommend this B&B for its hospitality, location, price and a memorable experience!! -Review from Tripadvisor.com


Nov 28, 2012 by Paul R.

11/28/2012

We stayed at the Kalorama for the third time this past August while in the DC area to visit family. We've always enjoyed staying there because of the great location, reasonable prices, friendly staff and nice rooms with lots of character. Our August visit was the first one since new owner Jack took over, and he was friendly, gracious and helpful right from the start. He even stayed late at the office to meet us and make sure we got our room keys and parking pass.

The Kalorama is a great choice for anyone who prefers a bed and breakfast over a conventional hotel, and is looking for reasonably-priced accommodations in Washington, which otherwise can be quite expensive. Even after breakfast there's usually coffee and tea available, as well as port wine and cookies later in the day. During my last visit I enjoyed sitting a the table in the front yard area doing work using the free wi-fi, drinking a nice cup of coffee and taking in a beautiful, sunny DC morning.

Woodley Park is a beautiful neighborhood, with nice restaurants in walking distance, in addition to the National Zoo and nearby Rock Creek Park. It's also easy to hop on the Metro or Circulator to get to the rest of the city and metro area.

For our next visit to Washington we'll definitely check the Kalorama first.


Nov 28, 2012 by Paul R

We stayed at the Kalorama for the third time this past August while in the DC area to visit family. We\'ve always enjoyed staying there because of the great location, reasonable prices, friendly staff and nice rooms with lots of character. Our August visit was the first one since new owner Jack took over, and he was friendly, gracious and helpful right from the start. He even stayed late at the office to meet us and make sure we got our room keys and parking pass.

The Kalorama is a great choice for anyone who prefers a bed and breakfast over a conventional hotel, and is looking for reasonably-priced accommodations in Washington, which otherwise can be quite expensive. Even after breakfast there\'s usually coffee and tea available, as well as port wine and cookies later in the day. During my last visit I enjoyed sitting a the table in the front yard area doing work using the free wi-fi, drinking a nice cup of coffee and taking in a beautiful, sunny DC morning.

Woodley Park is a beautiful neighborhood, with nice restaurants in walking distance, in addition to the National Zoo and nearby Rock Creek Park. It\'s also easy to hop on the Metro or Circulator to get to the rest of the city and metro area.

For our next visit to Washington we\'ll definitely check the Kalorama first.- Review from Yelp


Just Wonderful!!!!!!

Nov 17, 2012 by Alex and Andre

To start off the place is just the warmest and feels like a home away from home! (Love the breakfast!!) The staff are absolutely wonderful and accommodating to your needs and go out of there way for you! But most of all is Jack who is the nicest guy that you will ever meet who makes these cookies that are out of this world, you won't be sorry staying here!!!!


Jun 25, 2012 by Amy Y.

6/25/2012

Years ago, we stayed at another location of the Kalorama Guesthouse, so we knew what we were getting when we made our reservations. Little did we know we'd be getting so much more! Jack, as the new owner, was the most gracious host. Being that we were traveling for medical reasons, he understood immediately that we were going to be unsure of the length of our stay, and was incredibly accommodating. The Woodley Park location is in a great neighborhood, and the rooms are clean and cozy. The free wi-fi, full breakfast, and wine are also a plus. Jack's willingness to help, and his friendly demeanor, really added to the enjoyment of our stay. We'll be back!


Jun 25, 2012 by Amy Y

Years ago, we stayed at another location of the Kalorama Guesthouse, so we knew what we were getting when we made our reservations. Little did we know we\'d be getting so much more! Jack, as the new owner, was the most gracious host. Being that we were traveling for medical reasons, he understood immediately that we were going to be unsure of the length of our stay, and was incredibly accommodating. The Woodley Park location is in a great neighborhood, and the rooms are clean and cozy. The free wi-fi, full breakfast, and wine are also a plus. Jack\'s willingness to help, and his friendly demeanor, really added to the enjoyment of our stay. We\'ll be back! - Review from Yelp


Great breakfast, friendly owner, very clean and cookies!

May 19, 2012 by Megan G

The owner Jack has been a hotel before his venture here and he combined the best of both worlds. Charming building, nice renovations updates, nice layouts and nice perks. Fast wifi, full free breakfast, free wine and freshly baked cookies, communal computer/printer/internet, and a/c. ~Review from Trip Advisor


Charming Guesthouse

May 13, 2012 by turtlezurich

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming guesthouse. Jack is an extremely friendly and helpful host, baking cookies every day and making sure that all guests feel comfortable. The location is great, close to the Woodley Park metro station and to several good restaurants. We had a spacious room for three persons. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom quite old, but everything works. The atmosphere is open and relaxed, and we had very interesting conversations with the other guests. This is so much better than the usual franchise hotels. ~Review from Trip Advisor


Guesthouse , USA 5.0 5.0 48 48 My wife and I have stayed at the Kalorama 3 times now, and hope we never have to stay anywhere else when we come to D.C.. The location is so perfect; easy to get to from 50 and wit
Page:
12345