Reviews

Sign our Guest Book!


Submit your review
* Required Field

Jun 25, 2012 by Amy Y

Years ago, we stayed at another location of the Kalorama Guesthouse, so we knew what we were getting when we made our reservations. Little did we know we'd be getting so much more! Jack, as the new owner, was the most gracious host. Being that we were traveling for medical reasons, he understood immediately that we were going to be unsure of the length of our stay, and was incredibly accommodating. The Woodley Park location is in a great neighborhood, and the rooms are clean and cozy. The free wi-fi, full breakfast, and wine are also a plus. Jack's willingness to help, and his friendly demeanor, really added to the enjoyment of our stay. We'll be back! - Review from Yelp


Great breakfast, friendly owner, very clean and cookies!

May 19, 2012 by Megan G

The owner Jack has been a hotel before his venture here and he combined the best of both worlds. Charming building, nice renovations updates, nice layouts and nice perks. Fast wifi, full free breakfast, free wine and freshly baked cookies, communal computer/printer/internet, and a/c. ~Review from Trip Advisor


Charming Guesthouse

May 13, 2012 by turtlezurich

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming guesthouse. Jack is an extremely friendly and helpful host, baking cookies every day and making sure that all guests feel comfortable. The location is great, close to the Woodley Park metro station and to several good restaurants. We had a spacious room for three persons. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom quite old, but everything works. The atmosphere is open and relaxed, and we had very interesting conversations with the other guests. This is so much better than the usual franchise hotels. ~Review from Trip Advisor


Great place

Apr 08, 2012 by Miriam A

Jack, the owner, is very very kind and the facility is gorgeous. The porch, along with the cherry blossom tree, were absolutely stunning. Jack, who is always in a good mood, is willing to do anything he can to make your stay comfortable. You get real fresh eggs in the morning, access to a computer and printer, and a big tv downstairs. Never in my life did I have a better time staying in any other accommodation. Jack, along with all of his employees, really know the difference between right and wrong- they are GOOD people. If you stay here, you WILL NOT regret it. ~Review from Trip Advisor


A Home Away from Home

Apr 05, 2012 by Tessa K K

What an charming, comfortable and convenient place to stay---- only a few blocks to the Metro, to bike rental and the fabulous Zoo. A quick ride, by Metro or bike, and we were on the Mall. The owner, Jack, is warm, available and helpful. I knew we would be well-cared for when we arrived at night to a plate full of chocolate chip cookies and a decanter of sangria. The plentiful breakfast---eggs, bacon, sausage, hash-browns, fresh fruit, yogurt, toast/bagels/croissants, juice, coffee/tea was hot and satisfying. How lovely to be invited to snack even when breakfast was over---just like home. The other guests were courteous and friendly. The new basement bathroom is sparkly clean, private, and the shower was perfect--hot and pressured--with plenty of fresh, clean towels. We'll be back next year! ~Review from Trip Advisor


Great atmosphere, price, location and people.

Oct 14, 2011 by Richard R

I stayed there while in D.C. on a business trip. The location was perfect. It is close to the zoo, inexpensive restaurants and about a 10 minute walk to the national cathedral. Two blocks away is a metro stop that takes you anywhere in D.C. The neighbor is upscale and safe. The local restaurants are varied and enjoyable. One metro stop away has even more restaurants and bars.
The rooms are exactly as the descriptions state. It is a brownstone with all it's quirks, charm and comforts. The owners to a great job of letting you feel at home. Whether it is the fresh cookies, breakfasts, or candy dishes and maps, it's the little things that make this place great.
My last stay was in March 11 for 4 days and I have already booked another five days for this March (2012). The airport shuttle will drop you right off at the door and pick you up there too.
No complaints No problems No worries. The owner does a great job making sure anything question you have gets answered. ~Review from Trip Advisor


I loved it - second visit & I hope for more.

Aug 30, 2011 by Addie10

Warm international atmosphere. Clean, lovely decor. ~Review from Trip Advisor


Can't wait to return!

Jun 28, 2011 by Vacations42

The location of this B and B is excellent, close to the National Zoo, metro and restaurants. It is also a great value, as you receive a full breakfast, with lots of options, complimentary sherry/wine in the afternoon and freshly baked cookies in the evening. Our room was large and comfortable. The front patio had flowers, a table with candles and an umbrella which allowed us to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. The staff was wonderful and could not have been more accommodating! ~Review from Trip Advisor


Great service, feel like home

Feb 19, 2011 by Mengxia_Hu

My wife and I are Chinese travellers. I found this hotel by accident when searching on websites for a place to stay. Compared to other hotels of similar kind, this one was really cheap. However, we were so surprised to found it really beautiful and tidy when we arrived. We could enjoy the whole huge public places and food/wine/fruits. The householder was really kind hearted and the staffs here provide pretty good service. And every day's breakfast was great and for free. We really feels like home.

Tips: The householder helped us to switch our room to a much better one, because there were not many people at that time. So if you plan to come at a not crowded time, you could try your luck here! ~Review from Trip Advisor


Great Value, Great Staff

Jan 05, 2010 by megbeth11290

I stayed here with a friend and for just having a place to run to run in and out of during the visit was great. The room was adorable, the shared bath was old fashioned but very functional. (They had Bath and Body Work Toiletries!) The continental breakfast was beyond filling, and it was nice of them to have lemonade and cookies out all the time for a snack.
The staff was very friendly and they were very helpful with travel questions.
I will be staying here again in the summer! ~Review from Trip Advisor


Guesthouse , USA 5.0 5.0 31 31 My husband and I have never been to DC. This was an amazing experience. Especially having Jack as our host. He treated us like family from day one. We stayed at the Kalorama Guest
Page:
1234